Pupils at Elms Bank

Teaching School Alliance

The Bury Teaching Schools Alliance was formed in 2014 by two National Teaching Schools: Christ Church Primary School Walshaw and Elms Bank.

Our alliance includes Bury Primary, Secondary and Special Schools with additional strategic partners, Bury Primary Learning Collaborative, Bury Secondary Learning Collaborative, Cumbria University,  Manchester Metropolitan University and Bury Local Authority’s Young People and Culture Department. Our partnership also extends to teaching schools from neighbouring authorities. Our strategic partners oversee the work of the alliance and take responsibility for all our provision.

Together we have responsibility for all Bury children and young people aged 2-19. Working together on improving teaching, developing the curriculum, providing high quality staff training, growing future leaders and sharing the expertise already in our schools will have a profound impact - in all our schools and on every single child.